GIFF // Geneva International Film Festival

Since its inception in 1995, Geneva International Film Festival (GIFF) has been supporting the role of independent authors in creative processes. At the crossroads of genres and disciplines, a place to experiment, get together and celebrate, the Festival showcases a program featuring films, TV series and digital arts for ten days every year. It also devotes considerable attention to innovation, music and up-and-coming talent in its various programs.



Hors-Cadre : L'Île des Morts

Martin Charrière / 6 min / 2017 / Suisse

trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBBsQ383DxQ

The Isle of the Dead, by Arnold Böcklin is probably one of most internationally-renowned Swiss paintings. Led by the irreverent Yann Marguet, this VR immersion in an artwork looks more like an acid trip than a museum tour.

(c) Film Still, Martin Charrière - Hors-Cadre : L'Île des Morts

-------------------------------------------------------------

Hors-Cadre : Intimités de Félix Vallotton

Martin Charrière / 7 min / 2018 / Suisse

trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBBsQ383DxQ

In 1898, Swiss artist Félix Vallotton produced a series of woodcuts entitled Intimités which represent ten moments in the love life of famous Parisian pianist Misia Sert. To revisit this work, this VR project in the Unframed series imagines what the musician replies to the artist. Fascinating.

(c) Film Still, Martin Charrière - Hors-Cadre : Intimités de Félix Vallotton

-------------------------------------------------------------

The Bridge

Nikita Shalenny / 10 min / 2017 / Ukraine, Danemark

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcYIbsBoh2M

A bridge in the fog. Silhouettes running at our side. Are we fleeing? Are we heading towards history? The personal answer takes us 40,000 kilometers in a few minutes. Enhanced by Shalenny’s animation, a race against time, against mankind and against oneself.

(c) Film Still The Bridge, Courtesy of Nikita-Shalenny

-------------------------------------------------------------

La Apparizione

Christian Lemmerz / 3 min / 2017 / Danemark

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcYIbsBoh2M

Here you are underneath Christ. Crucified in the sky, he towers over you. From the darkness around him groans can be heard. And everywhere, golden blood pours from the divine figure. A virtual work by contemporary artist Christian Lemmerz, one of the most extreme experiences in VR art.

(c) Film Still, Christian Lemmerz - La Apparizione

-------------------------------------------------------------

She’s Already Gone

Yu Hong / 8 min / 2017 / China, Denmark

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGEABeHdGt

Directed by Chinese artist Yu Hong, this VR experience places the viewer in the middle of four scenes, that travel through the life of a female character from her birth to her old age. The narrative follows differing timelines as the life and aging of the protagonist moves forward while history goes backwards. (c) Film Still, Yu Hong - She’s Already Gone

Friday, January 24, 2020

Die Puppe with live music by Uwe Oberg and Silvia Sauer

7:30 PM Die Puppe with live music by Uwe Oberg and Silvia Sauer Murnau Film Theatre in Wiesbaden

GIFF // Geneva International Film Festival

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1995 unterstützt das Internationale Filmfestival Genf (GIFF) die Rolle unabhängiger Autoren in kreativen Prozessen. An der Schnittstelle von Genres und Disziplinen, einem Ort zum Experimentieren, Versammeln und Feiern, zeigt das Festival an zehn Tagen im Jahr ein Programm mit Filmen, Fernsehserien und digitaler Kunst. Darüber hinaus widmet sie in ihren verschiedenen Programmen wie Innovation, Musik und Nachwuchskräften große Aufmerksamkeit.


Hors-Cadre : L'Île des Morts

Martin Charrière / 6 min / 2017 / Schweiz

Trailer

Die Insel der Toten von Arnold Böcklin ist wohl eines der international bekanntesten Schweizer Gemälde. Angeführt von dem erfurchtslosen Yann Marguet, sieht diese VR-Vertiefung in ein Kunstwerk eher wie ein Acid-Trip als wie eine Museumsführung aus.

(c) Film Still, Martin Charrière - Hors-Cadre : L'Île des Morts

-------------------------------------------------------------------------


Hors-Cadre : Intimités de Félix Vallotton

Martin Charrière / 7 min / 2018 / Schweiz

Trailer

Der Schweizer Künstler Félix Vallotton produzierte 1898 eine Serie von Holzschnitten mit dem Titel Intimités, die zehn Momente im Liebesleben der berühmten Pariser Pianistin Misia Sert darstellen. Um diese Arbeit noch einmal aufzugreifen, stellt sich dieses VR-Projekt in der Reihe Unframed vor, was die Musikerin dem Künstler antwortet. Faszinierend.


(c) Film Still, Martin Charrière - Hors-Cadre : Intimités de Félix Vallotton

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The Bridge

Nikita Shalenny / 10 min / 2017 / Ukraine, Dänemark

Trailer

Eine Brücke im Nebel. Silhouetten, die an unserer Seite laufen. Sind wir auf der Flucht? Gehen wir in Richtung Geschichte? Die persönliche Antwort bewegt uns 40.000 Kilometer in wenigen Minuten. Erweitert durch Shalennys Animation, ein Wettlauf gegen die Zeit, gegen die Menschheit und gegen sich selbst.


(c) Film Still The Bridge, Courtesy of Nikita-Shalenny

-----------------------------------------------------------------------


La Apparizione

Christian Lemmerz / 3 min / 2017 / Dänemark

Trailer

Hier bist du unter Christus. Gekreuzigt am Himmel, überragt er dich. Aus der Dunkelheit um ihn herum ist Stöhnen zu hören. Und überall fließt goldenes Blut aus der göttlichen Gestalt. Eine virtuelle Arbeit des zeitgenössischen Künstlers Christian Lemmerz, eine der extremsten Erfahrungen in der VR-Kunst.

(c) Film Still, Christian Lemmerz - La Apparizione

------------------------------------------------------------------------------


She’s Already Gone

Yu Hong / 8 min / 2017 / China, Dänemark

Trailer

Unter der Regie der chinesischen Künstlerin Yu Hong versetzt diese VR-Erfahrung den Betrachter in die Mitte von vier Szenen, die das Leben einer weiblichen Figur von ihrer Geburt bis zu ihrem hohen Alter durchlaufen. Die Erzählung folgt unterschiedlichen Zeitlinien, während sich das Leben und die Alterung des Protagonisten vorwärts bewegen und die Geschichte rückwärts geht.

(c) Film Still, Yu Hong - She’s Already Gone