Expose Her

Lena Chen and Molly Baber - Expose Her

She was one of the first victims of so-called "revenge porn". In 2007, her boyfriend posted intimate photos of her on the Internet, resulting in years of stalking, cyber-bullying and mental anguish for feminist artist and blogger Lena Chen. Years later in Berlin, she has created a new life as her alter ego, Elle Peril. Working as a nude model, spoken word artist and performer, she attempts to regain sovereignty over her body and her identity.

When au pair and photographer Molly Baber arrives to Berlin and discovers Lena Chen on the verge of a mental breakdown, a friendship forms based on mutual artistic endeavours and longing for estranged lovers.

Witnessed by the queer female gaze, this jointly produced documemoir challenges the power relations between men and women, artist and muse, voyeur and exhibitionist, perpetrator and victim. As each character grapples for control of the narrative, Expose Her reveals how lies of omission can conceal the darkest of truths.

(c) Molly Baber

Video Installation and Performance "Expose Her"

Directors: Lena Chen & Molly Baber

Editor: Molly Baber

Writer: Lena Chen

Sound Designer: VVeber

1st Camera Operator: Molly Baber

2nd Camera Operator: Patrick Hamm

Friday, January 24, 2020

Die Puppe with live music by Uwe Oberg and Silvia Sauer

7:30 PM Die Puppe with live music by Uwe Oberg and Silvia Sauer Murnau Film Theatre in Wiesbaden

Expose Her

Lena Chen und Molly Baber - Expose Her

Sie war eines der ersten Opfer des sogenannten Revenge Porn. 2007 stellte ihr Freund intime Fotos von ihr ins Internet, was für die feministische Künstlerin und Bloggerin Lena Chen jahrelanges Stalking, Cyber-Mobbing und psychisches Leiden zur Folge hatte. Jahre später zieht sie nach Berlin und kreiert sich als Elle Peril ein Alter Ego. Sie arbeitet als Aktmodell, Spoken-Word-Artistin und Performerin und versucht auf diese Weise, selbstbestimmt und offensiv die Hoheit über ihren Körper und ihre Identität zurückzugewinnen.

Als Au Pair und Fotografin Molly Baber nach Berlin kommt und die Lena Chen am Rande eines Nervenzusammenbruchs entdeckt, bildet sich eine Freundschaft, die auf gemeinsamen künstlerischen Bemühungen und der Sehnsucht nach entfremdeten Liebhabern beruht.

Ihr gemeinsames Dokumentarium „Expose her“ beschreibt eindrücklich einen schmerzhaften Prozess als Kampf gegen Dissoziation und Psychose, da sich die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Fiktion auflösen. Dieses Werk stellt die Machtverhältnisse zwischen Männern und Frauen, Künstler und Muse, Voyeur und Exhibitionist, Täter und Opfer in Frage.

(c) Molly Baber

Videoinstallation und Performance "Expose Her"

Regie: Lena Chen & Molly Baber

Schnitt: Molly Baber

Autor: Lena Chen

Sounddesign: VVeber

Erster Kameramann: Molly Baber

Zweier Kameramann: Patrick Hamm



Freitag, 24. Januar 2020

Die Puppe mit Live-Musik von Uwe Oberg und Silvia Sauer

19:30 Die Puppe mit Live-Musik von Uwe Oberg und Silvia Sauer Murnau-Filmtheater in Wiesbaden