Description

Taking as its subject different perceptions of the British landscape, this short animated film is a roaming exploration of national identity and collective history set in a post-Brexit environment. Using a 3D model of the United Kingdom, an incongruous variety of visual scenarios – poignant, nostalgic and absurd – are enacted using a ‘live’ animation technique. These scenes draw directly on user comments found below the line of videos and online newspaper articles concerning the English and British countryside.
What emerges is a meditation on the British landscape – both as an imaginary vision and as a new world digitally constructed. The Green and Pleasant Land is a site where opinion, memory, history and highly charged emotion are given form, and are opened up for discussion and critique.
This film was commissioned by Arebyte gallery and developed through a residency with support from Arts Council England.

Title The Green and Pleasant Land
Director Max Colson
Genre Art Animation Documentary Film Experimental Film
Release Date 04.12.2021
Country
  • United Kingdom
Length 14 Minutes
Spoken Language
  • English
Color Format
  • Color
Sound Format
  • Stereo

Credits

Crew

Director
Max Colson
Camera
Max Colson
Editing
Max Colson
Producer
Max Colson
Music
Kevin MacLeod

Cast

Matt Abbott (Voiceover)
Sandra Pearlmutter (Voiceover)
Donna Louise Bryan (Voiceover)
Cato Hoeben (Voiceover)

Distribution

Producer

Max Colson Film and Photography




Max Colson

  • Director
  • United Kingdom
Max Colson is a British film artist who uses 3D animation, games design and experimental documentary to explore how our ideas of architecture, landscape and British identity are formed. His films have screened in various European galleries and international film festivals, including DOK Leipzig …

Die Spur des Falken (Live - Astor Film Lounge)

John Huston

The Island

Max Colson

The Green and Pleasant Land

  • Art
  • Vereinigtes Königreich

Beschreibung

Dieser kurze Animationsfilm thematisiert unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungen der britischen Landschaft und ist eine Erkundung der nationalen Identität und der kollektiven Geschichte in einer Post-Brexit-Umgebung. Anhand eines 3D-Modells des Vereinigten Königreichs wird eine unvereinbare Vielfalt an visuellen Szenarien - ergreifend, nostalgisch und absurd - in einer "Live"-Animationstechnik dargestellt. Diese Szenen stützen sich direkt auf Nutzerkommentare, die unter der Zeile von Videos und Online-Zeitungsartikeln über die englische und britische Landschaft zu finden sind.

Was dabei herauskommt, ist eine Meditation über die britische Landschaft - sowohl als imaginäre Vision als auch als eine neue, digital konstruierte Welt. The Green and Pleasant Land ist ein Ort, an dem Meinungen, Erinnerungen, Geschichte und hochgradig aufgeladene Emotionen eine Form erhalten und für Diskussionen und Kritik geöffnet werden.

Dieser Film wurde von der Galerie Arebyte in Auftrag gegeben und im Rahmen eines Aufenthalts mit Unterstützung des Arts Council England entwickelt.

Titel The Green and Pleasant Land
Regisseur Max Colson
Genre Art Animation Documentary Film Experimental Film
Veröffentlichung 28.01.2022
Land
  • Vereinigtes Königreich
Länge 14 Minuten
Sprache
  • Englisch
Farbformat
  • Farbe
Sound Format
  • Stereo

Credits

Crew

Regisseur
Max Colson
Kamera
Max Colson
Montage
Max Colson
Produzent*in
Max Colson
Musik
Kevin MacLeod

Cast

Matt Abbott (Voiceover)
Sandra Pearlmutter (Voiceover)
Donna Louise Bryan (Voiceover)
Cato Hoeben (Voiceover)

Vertrieb

Produzent

Max Colson Film and Photography




Max Colson

  • Regisseur
  • Vereinigtes Königreich
Max Colson ist ein britischer Filmkünstler, der 3D-Animation, Games Design und experimentelle Dokumentarfilme einsetzt, um zu untersuchen, wie unsere Vorstellungen von Architektur, Landschaft und britischer Identität entstehen. Seine Filme liefen in diversen europäischen Galerien und auf …

Die Spur des Falken (Live - Astor Film Lounge)

John Huston

The Island

Max Colson