Online + Frankfurt am Main | 15 – 23 October 2022

Frédéric Boyer

Frédéric Boyer has been Artistic Director of Tribeca Film Festival since 2012, of Les Arcs European Film Festival since 2009 and of RIFF in Reykjavik since 2020. Prior to that he was Artistic Director and Head of Programming for the Directors’ Fortnight at Cannes. As a youth, he loved to watch films at the Cinémathèque Française. He took master classes about the French New Wave cinema at La Sorbonne. Wanting to learn about film shooting, he assisted in diverse and small jobs on sets. He served on the jury of many festivals, i.e. Sarajevo, Karlovy Vary, Seattle. In 1994, he created a video library of some 60,000 titles including a wide range of arthouse films in Paris.

Info

Personal Info

Profession
  • Artistic Director
  • Speaker
Country
  • United States

Social

Company

Tribeca Film Festival
375 Greenwich Street, 10013, New York, New York, United States
+1 212 941 2344

Les Arcs Film Festival
10, Rue des Goncourt, 75011, Paris, France
+33 1 82 28 50 10
contact@lesarcs-filmfest.com

B3 Conference

16.10.2022
03:00 PM – 04:00 PM
Talk: What is wanted?! What subject areas and what creative content does the market want? Experts discuss!

Turning one's creativity into a profession and being able to make a living from it - that is the great desire of many creative professionals. To achieve this, however, the output of their creative work must also be relevant to the market.

The market in the moving image sector is constantly expanding. New technologies are being made marketable, and the proliferation of media such as virtual reality goggles is advancing. In addition to the technology, however, it is primarily the content transported via it that is the cornerstone for market acceptance. These must be prepared and edited accordingly so that they fit the respective medium and the user accepts them.

This naturally raises the question of whether creativity is not suffering under the dictates of market relevance, and how one can possibly counteract this. In such cases, it's good to have someone who believes in you, knows the market and is there to offer advice and support, such as experienced producers or festival directors.

Frédéric Boyer, artistic director of the Tribeca Film Festival, and Torre Schmidt, a German producer who has consolidated his career in Hollywood, will give an insight into their work: At what point do creatives and their work attract the interest of film producers or marketing platforms like festivals? What do they need to bring to the table, and which skills are particularly relevant? Above all, the two will also give an overview of what the producer-side market is currently demanding and will demand in the future.

19.10.2021
12:00 PM – 01:00 PM
Which content is the right one for the moving image markets?

Frédéric Boyer is one of the most experienced festival makers of our time. As artistic director, his expertise has enriched many festival programs from Cannes to Tribeca. In this moderated Master Class, he talks about the trends currently shaping festival programs and whether they will remain viable in the future. He will explain what to look for when submitting a film to a festival – and what to avoid at all costs. He will also shed light on what expectations one may have should the submitted film be selected by the festival, and at what point one can expect a career jump.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpitIweJZDQ

Guests of B3

Martin Zimper
Consultant Austria
Sebastian Stobbe
Writer Germany
Laura Turner
Writer United Kingdom
Laura Karasek
Speaker Germany

Online + Frankfurt am Main | 15. – 23. Oktober 2022

Frédéric Boyer

Frédéric Boyer ist seit 2012 Künstlerischer Leiter des Tribeca Film Festivals, seit 2009 in derselben Position für das Les Arcs European Film Festival und seit 2020 für das RIFF in Reykjavik. Davor war er Künstlerischer Leiter und Programmchef der Directors' Fortnight in Cannes. Als Jugendlicher ging er oft zum Filmeschauen in die Cinémathèque Française. An der Sorbonne belegte er Kurse über das Kino der Nouvelle Vague. Er wollte mehr über das Filmedrehen lernen und arbeitete vielseitig als Assistent an Sets mit. Er gehörte zur Jury vieler Festivals, z. B. in Sarajevo, Karlovy Vary und Seattle. 1994 legte er in Paris eine Videothek mit rund 60.000 Titeln an, darunter eine breite Palette von Arthouse-Filmen.

Info

Persönliche Angaben

Beruf
  • Artistic Director
  • Speaker
Land
  • Vereinigte Staaten

Social

Unternehmen

B3 Konferenz

16.10.2022
15:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Talk: Was ist gefragt?! Welche Themenfelder und welche kreativen Inhalte will der Markt? Experten diskutieren!

Seine eigene Kreativität zum Beruf zu machen und davon leben zu können, ist der große Wunsch der meisten Kreativschaffenden. Dafür muss der Output ihres kreativen Schaffens aber auch marktrelevant sein. Der Markt im Bereich des bewegten Bildes erweitert sich stetig. Neue Technologien werden markttauglich gemacht und damit einhergehend schreitet die Erweiterung der Trägermedien, wie z. B. durch Virtual Reality Brillen immer weiter fort. Neben der Technik sind dafür aber vor allem auch die darüber transportierten Inhalte Grundsteine für eine Marktakzeptanz. Diese müssen entsprechend aufbereitet und bearbeitet werden, damit sie zum jeweiligen Medium passen und der Endverbraucher sie akzeptiert.

Das wirft natürlich die Frage auf, ob die Kreativität nicht unter dem Diktat der Marktrelevanz leidet und wie man eventuell gegensteuern kann. In solchen Fällen ist es gut, wenn man jemanden hat, der an einem glaubt, den Markt kennt und mit Rat und Tat zur Seite steht, so wie zum Beispiel erfahrene Produzent:innen oder auch Festivaldirektor:innen.

Frédéric Boyer, künstlerischer Leiter des Tribeca Film Festivals und Torre Schmidt, deutscher Produzent, der seine Karriere in Hollywood gefestigt hat, werden einen Einblick in ihre Arbeit geben: Ab wann wecken Kreative und ihre Werk das Interesse von Filmproduzent:innen oder Marketingplattformen wie Festivals? Was müssen sie dafür mitbringen und welche Skills sind besonders relevant? Vor allem geben die beiden auch einen Überblick über das, wonach der produzentenseitige Markt derzeit verlangt und zukünftig verlangen wird.

19.10.2021
12:00 – 13:00 Uhr
Welche Inhalte sind die richtigen für den Bewegtbild-Markt?

Frédéric Boyer ist einer der erfahrensten Festivalmacher unserer Zeit. Als künstlerischer Leiter hat er mit seinem Wissen schon viele Festivalprogramme von Cannes bis Tribeca bereichert. In dieser moderierten Master Class spricht er über die inhaltlichen Trends und Strömungen, die derzeit die Programme der Festivals füllen, und darüber, ob diese auch in Zukunft noch tragfähig sein werden. Er erklärt, worauf man achten sollte, wenn man einen Film bei einem Festival einreicht – und was man unbedingt vermeiden sollte. Ferner wird er beleuchten, welche Erwartungen man haben darf, sollte der eingereichte Film vom Festival ausgewählt werden, und ab wann man mit einem Karrieresprung rechnen kann.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpitIweJZDQ

Gäste der B3

Ioulia Isserlis
Director Deutschland
Birgit Wittemann
Dramaturge Deutschland
Jordan McGarry
Vereinigtes Königreich
Alec Empire
Composer Deutschland