Johan Grimonprez

*1962

The critically acclaimed work of Johan Grimonprez dances on the borders of practice and theory, art and cinema, documentary and fiction, demanding a double take on the part of the viewer. Informed by an archaeology of present-day media, his work seeks out the tension between the intimate and the bigger picture of globalization. It questions our contemporary sublime, framed by a fear industry that has infected political and social dialogue.

Artist of the B3 Exhibition ON DESIRE

(c) Johan Grimonprez

Raymond Tallis // on tickling, 2017
Single-channel HD video, 8 min
Courtesy of the artist

In this short film by Johan Grimonprez, philoso- pher / neurologist Raymond Tallis argues that conscious- ness is not an internal construct, but rather relational. Through the intriguing notion that humans are physical- ly unable to tickle themselves, Tallis explores the philo- sophical notion that we become ourselves only through dialogue with others.

(c) Johann Grimonprez

Michael Hardt on the Politics of Love, 2016
Single channel, full HD video, 15:30 min
Courtesy of the Artist

In Jean-Luc Godard’s Film Alphaville (1965) all words referring to love are banned. When the heroine tries to express her emotions she has to invent new word creations because the concept of love is unknown to her. In this short film the philosopher Michael Hardt asks how it would be building a political system on love not on fear. Just like the character in Alphaville does, he suggests to redefine our instruments for political cooperation.

More information: www.johangrimonprez.be

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Screening & Panel: Shadow World, 2016

2:30 PM - 4:30 PM Screening & Panel: Shadow World, 2016 Cinema Panel

Johan Grimonprez

*1962

Der von Kritikern gefeierte Johan Grimonprez tanzt auf den Grenzen von Praxis und Theorie, Kunst und Kino, Dokumentarfilm und Fiktion. Der Betrachter seiner Werke muss immer zweimal hinschauen. Fundiert in einer Archäologie zeitgenössischer Medien, suchen die Werke die Spannung zwischen der Intimität des Einzelnen und dem „bigger picture“ der Globalisierung. Sie stellen unsere derzeitige Erhabenheit in Frage, gerahmt von einer Angstindustrie, die den politischen und sozialen Diskurs infiziert hat.

Künstler der B3 Leitausstellung ON DESIRE

(c) Johan Grimonprez

Raymond Tallis // on tickling, 2017
Single-channel HD video, 8 min
Courtesy of the artist

In diesem Kurzfilm von Johan Grimonprez argumentiert der Philosoph und Neurologist Raymond Tallies, dass das Bewusstsein kein innerer Zustand, sondern relational ist. Anhand der verblüffenden Tatsache, dass Menschen sich nicht selbst kitzeln können, belegt Tallies die philosophische Sicht, dass wir erst durch den Dialog mit anderen wir selbst werden.

(c) Johann Grimonprez

Michael Hardt on the Politics of Love, 2016
Single-channel, full HD video, 15:30 min
Courtesy of the artist

In Jean-Luc Godards Film ‚Alphaville‘ aus dem Jahr 1965 sind alle Worte verbannt, die mit Liebe zu tun haben. Als die Heldin versucht, ihre Gefühle auszudrücken, muss sie die Worte neu erfinden, denn das Konzept der Liebe ist ihr fremd. In diesem Kurzfilm fragt der Philosoph Michael Hardt, was es bedeuten würde, ein politisches System auf Liebe aufzubauen anstatt auf Angst. Er schlägt vor, dass wir unsere Instrumente für das politische Miteinander neu definieren sollen, genau wie die Filmfigur in Alphaville.

Mehr Informationen: www.johangrimonprez.be

Sonntag, 3. Dezember 2017

Film & Panel: Shadow World, 2016

14:30 - 16:30 Film & Panel: Shadow World, 2016 Cinema Panel