Daniel Landau

*1973

Daniel Landau is a media artist, researcher, and lecturer. He studied computer music at the Royal Conservatory in The Netherlands. Daniel’s work resides at the intersection of art, technology, and society, exploring the complex relationship between body and technology. His work has been presented at major venues worldwide and he is currently pursuing his Ph.D. at Aalto University Media Lab, Helsinki.

(c) Self Study, 2017

Self Study, 2017
With the current wave of Virtual Reality technology making its early steps as a consumer product, media artists Daniel Landau and Maya Magnet set out to explore new ways in which VR will impact our concept of self and self-awareness. What opportunities and challenges does re-embodiment in VR bring to how we perceive ‘self’ in relation to ‚others’? In their new audience participation performance-experiment ‘Self Study #0.2’, Daniel and Maya aim to critically explore VR as a significant and novel component in the history and tradition of the complex relationship between technology and self.



More information: www.daniel-landau.com

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Self-Study, a radical exploratory art experiment in which participants encounter themselves in virtual reality – Filming Sessions (open to 8 participants, requires registration)

9:00 AM - 6:00 PM Self-Study, a radical exploratory art experiment in which participants encounter themselves in virtual reality – Filming Sessions (open to 8 participants, requires registration) Performative Experiment

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Self-Study, a radical exploratory art experiment in which participants encounter themselves in virtual reality – open lab / performance & discussion (open for public, requires registration)

11:00 AM - 4:00 PM Self-Study, a radical exploratory art experiment in which participants encounter themselves in virtual reality – open lab / performance & discussion (open for public, requires registration) Performative Experiment

Friday, December 1, 2017

Self-Study, a radical exploratory art experiment in which participants encounter themselves in virtual reality – open lab / performance & discussion (open for public, requires registration)

11:00 AM - 4:00 PM Self-Study, a radical exploratory art experiment in which participants encounter themselves in virtual reality – open lab / performance & discussion (open for public, requires registration) Performative Experiment

Daniel Landau

*1973

Daniel Landau ist Medienkünstler, Forscher und Dozent. Er hat am Royal Conservatory in den Niederlanden Computermusik studiert. Seine Arbeit befasst sich mit den Schnittstellen von Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft und erforscht das komplexe Verhältnis von Körper und Technologie. Seine Werke wurden an namhaften Orten der Welt ausgestellt. Aktuell promoviert er am Aalto University Media Lab, Helsinki.

(c) Self Study, 2017

Self Study, 2017
Virtual Reality macht erste Schritte auf dem Weg zum Consumer-Produkt. Die Medienkünstler Daniel Landau und Maya Magnet untersuchen, wie VR unsere Vorstellungen vom Selbst und unserer Eigenwahrnehmung verändert. Welche Chancen und Herausforderungen birgt ein Re-Embodiment, eine Rückverkörperung des 'Selbst' in der virtuellen Wirklichkeit, in Beziehung zu 'Anderen'? Mit ihrem Performance Experiment 'Self Study #0.2’, bei dem das Publikum mitwirken kann, wollen Daniel und Maya die VR als eine signifikante Neuerung in der Geschichte und Tradition der komplexen Beziehung zwischen Technologie und dem Selbst kritisch erforschen.



Mehr Informationen: www.daniel-landau.com

Mittwoch, 29. November 2017

Self-Study, ein radikales Kunstexperiment zur Selbsterforschung, in dem die Teilnehmer_innen sich selbst in der virtuellen Realität begegnen. Aufnahmesession (für 8 Teilnehmer_innen, Anmeldung erforderlich)

09:00 - 18:00 Self-Study, ein radikales Kunstexperiment zur Selbsterforschung, in dem die Teilnehmer_innen sich selbst in der virtuellen Realität begegnen. Aufnahmesession (für 8 Teilnehmer_innen, Anmeldung erforderlich) Performative Experiment

Donnerstag, 30. November 2017

Self-Study, ein radikales Kunstexperiment zur Selbsterforschung, in dem die Teilnehmer_innen sich selbst in der virtuellen Realität begegnen. Open Lab / Performance & Gespräch (offen für alle, Anmeldung erforderlich)

11:00 - 16:00 Self-Study, ein radikales Kunstexperiment zur Selbsterforschung, in dem die Teilnehmer_innen sich selbst in der virtuellen Realität begegnen. Open Lab / Performance & Gespräch (offen für alle, Anmeldung erforderlich) Performative Experiment

Freitag, 1. Dezember 2017

Self-Study, ein radikales Kunstexperiment zur Selbsterforschung, in dem die Teilnehmer_innen sich selbst in der virtuellen Realität begegnen. Open Lab / Performance & Gespräch (offen für alle, Anmeldung erforderlich)

11:00 - 16:00 Self-Study, ein radikales Kunstexperiment zur Selbsterforschung, in dem die Teilnehmer_innen sich selbst in der virtuellen Realität begegnen. Open Lab / Performance & Gespräch (offen für alle, Anmeldung erforderlich) Performative Experiment