BEN – the B3 prizes

The B3 Biennial of the Moving Image honors established artists and young talents with the internationally-renowned BEN Award. Up for consideration for the main prizes and emerging talent awards are works by B3 Biennial artists with an especially innovative approach to the new narrative techniques. An international jury selects the best entries. The prize was designed by South African artist Trevor Gould.

Brian EnoBrian Eno

2015 British musician and multimedia artist Brian Eno received the B3 BEN Lifetime Achievement Award.

The BEN main prizes 2015 in the category “Expanded Senses”:

  • Yves Netzhammer (CH) for “Die Gegenwart sucht ihren Mund in der Spiegelung der Suppe”, 2014
  • Federico Solmi (I) for “Chinese Democracy Trilogy”, 2012/2013
  • John Gerrard (IRL) for “Exercise”, 2014

Prize for Emerging Talent

2013 Laurie Anderson received the B3 Honorary Prize for Lifetime Achievement

BEN main prizes 2013:

  • Linear: Richard Mosse “The Enclave”, 2013
  • Nonlinear: Candice Breitz “Treatment”, 2013
  • Transmedial: The Riahi Brothers “Everyday rebellion”, 2013

BEN Prizes for Emerging Talents 2013:

  • Linear: Laura Labs / Max Kerkoff “Volksbühne” The Film University (HFF) Konrad Wolf, Potsdam-Babelsberg
  • Nonlinear: Philipp Bergmann/Matthias Schönijahn “Breaking News” Justus-Liebig-University Gießen
  • Transmedial: Nikolas Schmid-Pfähler/Carolin Liebl “Vincent&Emily” HfG Offenbach